Red and Black Forever

In the touching candor of our young writer, are poignant lessons for us all, if taken to heart and treated with care..

kewgar001

 Today has been a productive day so far.  I went to school, thinking that I would find something to do and I was wrong.  Mrs. Robinson did happen to assign me some homework, but being the best and favorite student of her class, I had it finished in about an hours time.  I roamed the hallways a bit, relaxed in the bathroom, and chatted in the study hall room with Mr. Zabriek for a while until it was time for my next class.  This teacher, another one of my favorites, happened to have gone to another stupid teachers conference, so we were assigned reading and a paper.  Our sub was Mr. Pulkinen, and he’s the man, so I left school early and came home and had lunch with mom.  Does anyone see a problem with my day from 8 – 12?  Most of you would say, “Heck no! I wish my schedule was like yours!”  But there are some of you who would find this ridiculous that a senior in high school who went to school today to get an EDUCATION, didn’t really do all that much today.  Before I start on what some of you might call a “rant”, I want you all to know that this is strictly opinion and I have absolutely nothing against the teachers or people at Katahdin.  I love all of the teachers I have very much and am thankful for there support this year with everything, especially Mrs. Robinson.  I wouldn’t have made it through without her.

      The above paragraph about this beings strictly opinion and having nothing against most of the teachers at Katahdin is a true statement, for those of you who don’t believe it and I regret not writing that at the very end of my article in the Pioneer because this year has been different.  I have been an outcast.  Not to my friends and family, but to the administration and few teachers at the school.  They either don’t like me, don’t like my opinion, or both. Most likely, its the latter.  But that hasn’t stopped me from charging on through my year like a bull at a bull fight.  To them, it probably seems more like a bull in a China shop, but that’s about them, not me.  Yes, I have fallen.  More liked been pushed down and tripped and beaten upon.  But each time, I have gotten up, stronger and much more irritated than before.  And that isn’t just because I have the patience of a beetle bug.  After a while, it gets harder to get back up.  When everyone wants you to stay down, that is exactly what you want to do.  Except I would have preferred to stick my head in the ground and leave it there for a while.

      I spent a lot more time in the office this year than I have all of my combined years at Katahdin which makes just about as much sense to you as it does to me.  I received my first detention, a few reprimanding, a few calls home, and a few calls to the school by my more than disgusted mother.  I wish I could say that I deserved them, but I did not, and that is why it makes it even harder for me to step through those big glass silver iron doors at around 7:40 in the morning every weekday.  But thank goodness I am not alone.  I have had my mom and dad, backing me up since day 1.  They have listened to me cry, heard me yell, scream, and curse, and probably seen me throw a thing or two.  They have been nothing but supportive and I will never be able to thank them enough.  My close friends, especially Katie, have listened to my constant complaints and rants about how unhappy I am. She gives pretty good advice and has great ideas of how to solve my problems.  Most of them unfortunately are too violent to admit publicly.  But for real, she is the bestest friend I could ever ask for and I am thankful to have had her in my life for almost 18 years.  Cody has also been wonderful listening to me rant and agreeing with me, even when I say crazy things that don’t even make sense, just to appease me.  He has been a wonderful supporter and am thankful for him everyday.

     I don’t think that there is anything wrong with me wanting more.  I know they say not to be selfish,  but I think it is neither selfish or unrealistic to ask for more from our education system.  I am not asking more just for me.  I am asking for more for my underclassmen friends who have 1 – 3 years left at this school.  I am asking for more for the teachers, who deserve better than what they are getting, try there best to be good at what they do, but could be provided with better resources which the student and teacher both deserve.  And I am asking for my sisters.  One of them has already had it at third grade, and is frustrated with classes  and the other just doesn’t really care anymore.  I mean, why should she? It’s not like she is getting graded or anything decent is expected out of her.  And get this, she doesn’t even know if she is passing or failing. I know we could have better than we do.  Everyone deserves it.

     For me, it isn’t too big of a deal anymore.  I have about 44 days left at Katahdin before I am no longer a Cougar and I will be a Black Bear.  That is both exciting and nerve-wracking.  I am not sure I am ready.  I definitely am not ready.  I am worried that school hasn’t prepared me for what is coming , but luckily, I am self motivated and that will help me, I think.  But even when I am not a Cougar, that doesn’t mean I will stop caring.  I always will care.  About the people inside the school.  About the education of our school.  About the school in general.  That building and some of the people inside was a second home to me for a long time, but not so much anymore.  But even though it isn’t for me anymore, it should feel like it for others.  Hopefully things change.  Hopefully people start to listen.  And until they do, hopefully, people won’t give up on the education that there children deserve.  Red and Black forever.

13 responses to “Red and Black Forever

  1. Thank you for taking us for a walk in your shoes, and painting such a vivid picture.

    It can inform the path Board members set for students who follow you.

    Like

  2. Delaney is going to be a stronger person as a result of her experiences this year as she had a great support system and was able to pull through the tough times and realize them for what they are (even though she was definitely wronged as a student and the great person that she is)……….but what about those students that don’t have that support system or that strong personality?

    Like

    • Thank you and I completely agree! I don’t know what we are going to do or you guys at least. They need an upcoming senior to take care of them. Caleb Cullen would be good at this because he knows what he is talking about and cares for the school just as much as I do!

      Like

  3. Like your candor, and your ability to speak up even when you get grief for it. The ability to stand for what you believe in is very important. Others should learn to listen and be tolerant of different viewpoints, not offended by them.

    Like

    • I totally agree! I think more people need to be able to speak up. Yes they will get grief, but it will hopefully all be worth it in the end!

      Like

  4. I know I speak for many here at Timbered Classrooms. We are very proud of you, your fellow student authors and your friends as well. You stayed true to your first priority; making the most of the opportunities that you have, and, conducted yourselves with the utmost decorum as you enlighten our readers with your candor. Thank you. ..and keep writing! Your voice will serve you well.

    Like

    • Delaney Fitz

      Thank you very much! I will try my best to make all of you, including my family and friends, proud! 🙂 Thank you for all the support!

      Like

  5. little bridge

    Well, is there anybody here? What is going on ? Do we have a rep?

    Like

  6. Do not no, i no there is trouble in Benedicta, haven’t heard nothing.

    Like

  7. Yep, total shit going on there.

    Like

  8. little bridge

    OH man, OK

    Like

We want to know what YOU think! Post a comment